## Congress of the United States

Washington. DC 20515

October 27, 2023

Honorable Glenn Thompson Chairman, House Committee on Agriculture 1301 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Honorable David Scott Ranking Member, House Committee on Agriculture 1010 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Thompson and Ranking Member Scott,

We write to express our strong opposition to any efforts to limit longstanding state and local authority to protect people, animals, and the environment by regulating pesticides. As Congress considers legislation related to agriculture, including the reauthorization of the Farm Bill and Fiscal Year 2024 appropriations bills, we urge you to ensure that state, county, and local governments retain the right to protect their communities and set policies that best suit local needs.

The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) establishes the authority of the Environmental Protection Agency to oversee the registration, distribution, sale, and use of pesticides in the United States. Congress has long considered FIFRA to set a federal *floor* for pesticide policy, and under FIFRA, state, county, and local governments possess authority to enact supplementary standards. The majority of states – as well as hundreds of towns and cities – have adopted laws and ordinances related to pesticide safety. These include laws to restrict pesticide use near schools, parks, and playgrounds, protect drinking water supplies and wildlife, provide consumers with adequate information to make informed decisions about use and exposure, and equip workers with information and tools to minimize occupational risk.

We are deeply concerned that legislative proposals to curtail state and local input regarding pesticide policy are contrary to FIFRA's longstanding balance of federal, state, and local authority. These proposals seek to overturn decades of precedent and Supreme Court rulings that allow for democratically elected local governments to address the specific needs of their communities. State and local governments are often best positioned to respond quickly to emerging risks within their communities, and proposals to weaken their ability to respond could have a significant impact on public safety. Preemption of state and local authority could result in an immediate removal of protections for communities across the country, with the potential to limit accountability for manufacturers who fail to adequately warn consumers about the hazards posed by certain high-risk pesticides.

As the House continues its work in the 118th Congress, we urge you to reject any and all harmful pesticide policy riders that would both diminish local authority and compromise Congress' ability to deliver bipartisan legislation for the American people. Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

ams P. Me Donen

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

(ared Huffman Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Troy Carter Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress David J. Trone **Eleanor Holmes Norton** Matt Cartwright Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Wette D. Clarke

Yette D. Clarke Member of Congress Katie Porter

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Maxine Waters Member of Congress	Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress	Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress
Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress	Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress	Donald Norcross Member of Congress
Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress	Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress	Mike Quigley Member of Congress
Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress	Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress	Dina Titus Member of Congress
André Carson André Carson Member of Congress	Steve Cohen Member of Congress	Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Innovation, Data, and Commerce
Judy Chu Member of Congress	Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress	Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Beino Bradley Scott Schneider Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Linda T. Sánchez Eric Swalwell Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Chris Pappas Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congres Seth Moulton Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress	Juan Vargas Member of Congress	C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress
Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress	Shri Thanedar Member of Congress	Kevin Mullin Member of Congress
Nikema Williams Member of Congress	Robert Carcia Member of Congress	Greg Casar Member of Congress
Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress	Chris Deluzio Member of Congress	Seth Magaziner Member of Congress
Mark Takano Member of Congress	Brian Higgins Member of Congress	William R. Keating Member of Congress
Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress	Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress	Mike Levin Member of Congress

Fauld tonles Queo Paul D. Tonko Norma J. Torres Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Adam B. Schiff Lori Trahan Member of Congress Member of Congress Robert C. "Bobby John P. Sarbanes Ritchie Torres Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Gregory W. Meeks Colin Z. Allred Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Diana DeGette Bill Pascrell, Jr. Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress Nevada's Fourth Congressional District

Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress Andy Kim
Member of Congress

Becca Balint
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell
Member of Congress

ared Golden Member of Congress Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Glenn Ivey
Member of Congress

Dan Goldman
Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez
Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

cc: Honorable Andy Harris, Honorable Sanford Bishop, Jr.